About IOGP

We are the global voice of our industry

Our Members, upstream operators, service companies, and industry associations operate around the globe, supplying over 40% of the world’s oil and gas demand.

We currently have a global membership of 88 Members, including 25 national oil companies.

We bring the industry together

For over 45 years, we have been serving the upstream industry as a unique forum to share know-how and good practices in the areas of safety, health, environment, and climate.

As a member-driven, non-profit organization, we work with over 2,100 experts from our Member organizations to identify and share knowledge and good practices to improve the industry.


We work to develop and disseminate best practice in safety, environment, engineering. This includes, among others, safety, engineering, environment, energy transition, and workforce diversity.


From our four core regions – Americas, Asia Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa – we address a variety of stakeholders global and regional bodies as well as the broader public.

A unique forum for the upstream industry since 1974

We drive good practice

Our work is supported by sound science and data – we have the largest collection of safety performance data in the oil and gas industry.

We publish dozens of guiding documents per year. Our publications are freely available in our Publications Library.

Our most popular publications are Life Saving Rules, Safety Performance Indicators, and Environmental Performance Indicators.

For a safer industry

IOGP has a long history of working to improve safety in the industry, from guidance on management systems to the specifics for safe diving operations.

  • Over 100 safety guidance documents have been published to date
  • Project Safira brings together four of IOGP’s safety subject areas: Process Safety, Aviation, Land Transportation, Life-Saving Rules

For a low-carbon future

IOGP welcomes the Paris Agreement and supports the international community’s commitment to address the global challenge of climate change.

The oil and gas industry contributes to a low carbon future, and IOGP supports its Members in these efforts. Examples include:

  • Working with OGCI and IPIECA on Recommended Practices for Methane Emissions Detection.
  • Completion of Flaring Management Guideline with the World Bank’s Global Gas Flaring Reduction (GGFR) Partnership.
  • Supporting organization to the Methane Guiding Principles.
  • The efforts of our Energy Transition Directorate on electrification, Carbon Capture Transportation and Storage (CCTS), flaring, and energy efficiency

For a sustainable industry

We work on reducing the environmental footprint of upstream operations. These efforts include the following areas: Biodiversity, Environmental Management, Oil spill preparedness and response, Sound and Marine Life, and Oceans

Some of our most popular environment reports include:

    • Sustainability Reporting Guidance (jointly with IPIECA and API)
    • Environmental Management in the oil and gas industry
    • Environmental Performance Indicators

For an efficient industry

In 2016 IOGP initiated – with support from the World Economic Forum capital project complexity initiative – the Joint Industry Programme (JIP33) working on the standardization of Equipment Specifications for Procurement.

It works to address industry-wide overruns on Capital Projects in cost and schedule, to significantly help drive cost and time efficiencies in the industry supply chain.

For innovation and technical advance

IOGP’s objective is to identify and drive the adoption of information standards to improve the efficiency of integration between supply chain partners, and to support the introduction of digitalization technologies.

Other areas include Geomatics, Metocean, and Engineering.

We serve stakeholders around the globe

From our headquarters in London, we address a variety of global and regional bodies including UN agencies, the World Bank, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Regulators’ Forum, OSPAR, and others.

Our Brussels office provides an essential conduit for advocacy and debate between our industry and the European Union and its policymakers.

We also have a crucial presence in Houston to engage and liaise with authorities, regulators, industry associations, Members and future Members, in the Americas region.

Our purpose

Back to top button